top of page
Search
  • andybrei

Day 41 - July 18

(A) There’s a heat wave sweeping across the UK. Maybe you’ve heard about it. Now, when I say that, keep in mind that the projected high for today and tomorrow in Edinburgh was/is 88 degrees Fahrenheit. It’s much hotter south of here, particularly in London. Down there, it’s getting Texas-hot.


Anyway, we figured that today would be a good day to revisit the beach. This time we went to Southerness. It’s a nice little town that knows what a tourist wants on a hot day. We had some lunch at the Paul Jones Bar & Grill. Then we walked down to the lighthouse and the beach.

I’m not sure I’ve seen a lighthouse like this before. The light doesn’t go all the way around — or, it didn’t when the lighthouse was in operation. Part of the upper level is brick, and part is glass. I suppose it makes sense not to shine light inland, where it’s not needed. But as I say, I’m not sure I’ve noticed lighthouse architecture of this kind before.


The tide was coming in when we got there, and it really comes in quickly. In the course of just 20 or 30 minutes, we had to relocate ourselves a few times in order to avoid getting wet. We heard stories from the bartender at Paul Jones of people who get stranded because the tide comes in around them, and then the Search & Rescue people have to save them. It’s a pretty common thing, I guess. I’m glad it didn’t happen to us. It meant we could get ice cream before heading back to our house.

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Day 50 - July 27

(A) Back home we go. That’s the plan, anyway. Our flight out of New York was delayed a few hours, but we were notified early and didn’t have to receive the news at the airport. That made our morning a

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page